Solaris Apps

I seemed to have missed this article in eWeek from a couple of weeks ago — Sun Continues Quest to Provide Linux Apps Under Solaris. Check out Dennis Clarke’s comments on the Blastwave community and Solaris users from the piece:

“They [Solaris users] demand and expect the latest and greatest and they want it now,” said Dennis Clarke, Blastwave’s administrator.

Specifically, according to Clarke, “What they [wanted] were the latest editions of open-source software without the pains of resolving dependencies and library revisions. What they wanted was a simple way to make Solaris look and feel like a Linux distro without losing the horsepower and stability of Solaris.”

The project, according to Clarke, has been successful.

“Blastwave has seen nonstop, nonlinear growth since Solaris 10 was released in beta, even though our primary user base runs Solaris 9. Our customers now include divisions of NASA, JPL, MIT and a number of government agencies that all want the freight train power and stability of Solaris with leading-edge open-source software titles,” Clarke said.

“Freight train power and stability.” Very nice. Dennis is a pretty quotable guy, I’d say. 🙂 Several guys from the Blastwave community have been involved in the project from the very early pilot program. They were one of the first few in the door, actually. We wouldn’t have it any other way.

4 thoughts on “Solaris Apps

  1. <hr>
    <center>
    You need to know about Phil Brown !
    </center>
    <hr>
    Before this gets out of hand I need to clarify that while I am the project director and admin at Blastwave it is Phil Brown that is the creator of the pkg-get tool. Not I.

    Phil and I talked a long time ago about getting an “about page” up on the site but we are so busy that we never seem to get around to it. I think that today is a good day to get this done.

    It was Phil and I that talked way back in 2002 and decided that a whole new community project was needed. I built the site and the infrastructure and then worked with him night and day to get the project up onto its knees. Then came a whole pile of people afterwards. Oh, and by the way, Phil is a stunningly brilliant man. I mean really smart and really hard working. He is the man behind pkg-get.

    So before anyone thanks me again for pkg-get it is Phil Brown that is the package creator and I am the guy that creates and manages the project that pkg-get draws from.

    However, while it has become a 24 hour a day job to manage the site and all its little bits I am finding time to get back to my passion; programming. Thus I am working on a prototype graphical frontend to pkg-get all written in Java. Stay tuned for that .

    Dennis

    <small>ps: In actual fact I only maintain two software packages and they are both out of date! No one seems to care about gnuchess too much and POVRay is a monster with its x86/Linux specific code bits.</small>
    <hr>

    Like

  2. I just discovered the power of pkg-get a few months ago.
    It took me sometime for me to find out that I don’t have to download and install each package in dependency list individually 🙂
    Thanks Dennis

    Like

  3. <hr>
    <center>
    Thank You !
    </center>
    <hr>
    A lot of users really love the ability to simply type &ldquo;pkg-get -i gnome&rdquo; and then sit back and watch as the library of congress software pile simply installs for you.

    But we need something more.

    I have begun to spec out and prototype a graphical frontend app for people that really just want to &ldquo;point and click&rdquo; their way to more software. The trick will be in giving users a really nice OOBE ( Out Of Box Experience ) in which they need to know very little and simply say that they want GNOME or KDE or a &ldquo;development suite&rdquo; or &ldquo;games pack&rdquo;.

    I feel strongly that Solaris users can have everything that they want and that they can have it with a really low barrier to entry. Solaris users should be able to &ldquo;click here&rdquo; and get everything they want.
    Dennis Clarke

    Like

  4. Blastwave is a perfect supplement to Solaris 10. People who complain that Solaris pkgadd is clunky need to see pkg-get in action. It’s all about the user interface!

    Like

Comments are closed.