Collaborative Documents

Stephen G’grady is trying some collaborative development of his upcoming keynote at the Zend/PHP Conference. Cool. We’ll have to see how that all works out. I’m going to try something similar (though I’m not at the keynote level). Recently, I suggested to the OpenSolaris marketing community that we collaborate on the creation of source documents (community development plans, presentations, marketing plans, whatever) and license those documents so people can contribute openly as well as make their own modifications. I’m going to do it with all of my community development stuff here on this blog, but I’m not sure if I should use the Creative Commons license or the Public Documentation License that OpenOffice uses. I’m exploring this right now. Any suggestions?

One thought on “Collaborative Documents

  1. I quite like the creative commons license, and the attribution section in it, although section 3.5 of the PDL also seems to cover this. On saying that the attribution section of CC is somewhat ambigious with the line <em>You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor.</em>, which could allow an author to create some very obtrusive attribution clauses. The content on personal blog is licensed under CC.

    Like

Comments are closed.