OSBC 2

Here are some images from OSBC earlier today.

I missed the early morning keynotes, but stopped by for Larry Lessig’s talk and then a few of the afternoon sessions. Lessig gave his typically depressing (but excellent) pitch about how we are losing our freedoms and what to do about it. But he was much more positive this year than he was last year at OSBC, I must say. Since Lessig’s keynote last year, I’ve posted about fifteen hundred images on flickr and licensed them under his Creative Commons, so I guess last year’s talk really got to me. Anyway. Then I learned how Sun had no "open source street cred" from Business Week’s Sara Lacy and her panel on changing from proprietary to open, but Sun’s CIO, Bill Vass, answered that one easily enough. And then I caught Sun, IBM, and Microsoft mixing it up on a panel about open standards and open source.

And finally, I got a new t-shirt. It’s pretty cool because it’s the first shirt from Sun where the company logo is buried among many developer community logos. The communities in which we participate, basically. It would probably make a good cheat sheet for conference conversations …

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06

3 thoughts on “OSBC 2

Comments are closed.