OSBC

Here are some pics from OSBC today. Jonathan announced GPL for OpenSPARC, which woke up the audience — especially when he put up a supportive quote from Richard Stallman. And it was great to finally meet Stephen O’Grady of RedMonk after following his blog all year long. The guy is prolific, and you can’t help but learn from his stuff.

I just basically roamed in and out of various sessions. The one on open source marketing was most interesting because it was pretty much about community building and talking to developers without all the traditional marketing BS. The moderator, Dave Rosenberg, commented that Sun wasn’t so hot at open source marketing, which I find bizarre considering how many engineers we have out there building developer communities. If open source marketing is all about talking directly to developers, aren’t we doing just that?

Anyway. I haven’t been out in a while, so it was nice to hook up with some pals I haven’t seen lately and meet some new people as well. Blogging and mail-listing are cool, but nothing beats face to face …

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC  San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

OSBC San Francisco 06 OSBC San Francisco 06

By the way, that image of Steve Gillmor was taken just as he was blogging about Sun. Steve and I don’t necessarily agree about Sun (or Simon, or Tim, or Jonathan), obviously, but he gave me a nice compliment, which I appreciate (though I doubt it’s true). More importantly, Steve noticed a change in my blog over these two years that I want to comment on further. But it’s late so I’ll do it another time. More images tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “OSBC

  1. Hi Jim,
    What I actually said was that Sun was good at managing community and marketing in the theoretical sense, but that I have a hard time trusting the company because there is no clearly visible strategy.
    I am actually very easy to find and in fact write a ton about open source. This is the 3rd or so time I have commented on your blog so that you could contact me. You can find my blog here http://weblog.infoworld.com/openresource/

    Like

  2. Hi Jim,
    You wrote:
    > <em>The moderator, Dave Rosenberg, commented that Sun wasn’t so hot at open source marketing…</em>
    Isn’t he the head OSDL guy?
    I doubt Dave has any awareness at all of the engineer-led opensolaris.org communities.
    As you probably know, despite their name, OSDL is as self-described promoter of only distros with a Linux kernel, which is funded and steered largely by IBM and Intel. In other words, the 7 or so open-source distros with a BSD or SunOS kernel are hardly on their radar.

    Like

Comments are closed.